Book Thoughts –> Counterfeit Gods

Every once in a while, after finishing a book, my first thought is that I would benefit from reading it every year or so for the rest of my life (or maybe, depending on the subject matter, through the rest of a season). This book easily makes that list.

Timothy Keller is captivating (and convincing) as he describes all human sin as idolatry. He starts somewhere around the obvious, “idols don’t have to be tangible objects”, covers how to identify the idols in your life, shows how to trace “surface idols” to “root idols” (a very helpful section), has a special section on “this is the idol you’ll say you don’t have, but you probably do” (yep, I’m going to make you read it to find out what this is), and finally, of course, how to get rid of them. This book is a very comprehensive look at idolatry.

Keller explains, throughout the book, that no idol can be uprooted, it can only be replaced. So we can leave them in their place of honor, allow another idol to take their place, or set our hearts on the God we were created to worship. Obviously much, much easier said than done. For those desiring to do so, however, I recommend another book by Timothy Keller: Prodigal God. It contains what may be the best explanation of the gospel I have ever heard.

I would love to include a few quotes, but I listened to this one, so I just don’t have any. When I get around to reading this again, because there’s a very good chance I will, I try to remember to come back and update this post!

This entry was posted in Book Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Thoughts –> Counterfeit Gods

  1. momco3 says:

    Listening to Screwtape Letters right now, and I think Keller must have read some Lewis lately. Good stuff.

  2. Pingback: 2013 Book Thoughts –> “Idol Lies” by Dee Brestin | stickyloaves

Leave a Reply

