Book Thoughts –> 1000 Gifts by Ann Voskamp

Several times I have read a book and thought that I needed to read it again sometime in the future. This is the first time I have finished a book and thought that I wanted to (needed to?) read it again immediately. My one line description of the book is that it is a cross between poetry and a sermon on thankfulness. Radical thankfulness, actually. I still have so much to process through from reading this book.

A lot of what struck me was how much I liked the book. I really didn’t think I would like it very much. First of all, I don’t really like poetry. Yes, I said it. I don’t really like poetry. I know: I sound uncultured and uneducated. I just don’t usually understand what the poems are about and end up feeling like I’m staring at someone’s facebook status update and they’ve just said, “I can’t believe this happened!!” So it’s clearly big and important, but I have no idea what happened that’s so important to them. And of course the times I’ve had the meaning “explained” to me, it ceases to be poetry and is just someone telling you something. So there you have it. I am uneducated and uncultured. I’m glad I got that off my chest. ANYWAY, I found that I actually enjoyed Voskamp’s book much more than I expected to. I think I was so moved by what she said that her poetry actually made sense. And was beautiful.

As for her “sermon” on radical thankfulness, it was delivered in a very un-sermon-like way. It seemed to me as if she just sent her journal to print. It was the story of her journey into her understanding of what thankfulness is and what it means. I’d like to sum it up, but I think I would do the book, and her points, a very great injustice if I tried.

I would recommend this book to anyone.

This entry was posted in Book Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

