Book Thoughts –> “Streams of Living Water” by Richard Foster

In this book, Richard Foster introduces and explains 6 “streams” of the Christian tradition: contemplative, holiness, charismatic, social justice, evangelical, and incarnational. For each, he gives a biblical example and a more contemporary example.

Before reading the book, I had certain reactions to each of these words or phrases; some positive, some negative, most (as I came to find out) uninformed or unfair (at least the negative ones).

I enjoyed this book so, so much. I think anyone interested at all in the Christian faith that could benefit from this book. Perhaps those raised with a broad understanding of many of these would be less moved than I, but I think too may people raised in the Christian faith are taught a very narrow view of what Christianity looks like.

The book was very well written, and if the author had any personal tendencies of his own, he did an amazing job of keeping them out of the spotlight. He spoke about every stream as if it was the stream he was most passionate about. I’m excited about the way this has already impacted my thinking and will continue to do so.

This entry was posted in Book Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Thoughts –> “Streams of Living Water” by Richard Foster

  1. momco3 says:

    Oh, I’m so glad you liked it! Did you love the section on Susana Wesley? I love that part!

  2. Tonya says:

    Loved it. Could’ve used her wisdom many times when I reacted much less nobly towards my husband. 🙂

Leave a Reply

