Tardy 2012 Book Thoughts –> “Driven to Distraction” by Hallowell and Ratey

I have a newfound interest in ADD and ADHD. Actually, I began to be interested several years ago, but I was told that I should not bother to even think about it until the child who piqued my interest was at least 5 or 6. So… as the proud mother of a 6 and a half year old, I have begun researching ADD and ADHD. This book was recommended to me by an adult friend with ADD.

The primary value of this book, for me, was normalizing some of what I experience on daily basis. The book had lots of medical type talk, which I tried to pay attention to, in case there was something in there that would have bearing on my journey forward. There were lots of stories. And there was some information on management, but it was minimal. The stories were interesting, and, as I mentioned, very helpful to me. I did think the book was mostly geared towards adults with ADD rather than children, although it markets itself as helping to understand both.

I am still pretty new in my journey of researching ADD, so I can’t offer much else in the way of thoughts on this book, as I have little else to compare it to.

This entry was posted in Book Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

