Tardy 2012 Book Thoughts –> “Humility: True Greatness” by C. J. Mahaney

Sometimes I think I will never learn. This book has come to my attention over and over again for years now. I kept meaning to get it, forgetting, and having it brought to my attention again. (Think God’s telling me something??) So finally I ordered it. But here’s where I’m a slow learner: a book on humility? Did I think this would be light reading?! That’s right, I ordered it in the form of an audiobook. Because humility is the sort of thing that can be obtained while also doing dishes and driving.

Well, I gathered enough from my listen to know that it was very good, very necessary for me to pursue, and necessary to *read*. So I shall purchase it again.

He opens with a great description of how elusive humility is. How do we get more of it? Even when we want it, we often can’t think of how to “get” it, so we end up just saying things we wish we believed (“Oh, it had nothing to do with my effort… The hours and hours and hours I spent, that is…”).

He included, funny enough, a list of things to do if you want to be more humble. Sounds ridiculous, I know. But it’s not a do-this-get-that formula. It’s simply a list of things you can do to remind yourself who you really are and who God really is. Because, really, all it takes to be humbled is an accurate view of yourself and of God.

This entry was posted in Book Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

