Tardy 2012 Book Thoughts –> “Shepherding a Child’s Heart” by Tedd Tripp

I read this book several years ago, and I remember thinking, “I need to read this book every 2 years for the remainder of the time any of my children are living with me.” Years passed, and I forgot what I liked so much about the book, but I remember specifically having that thought. So, this year, I picked it up and read it again.

My first thought after finishing? “No, REALLY, I need to read this book every 2 years!” This will be the parenting resource I will recommend to anyone and everyone who asks. And maybe some who don’t ask; we’ll see.

Tedd Tripp presents a model of parenting that is wholly grounded in the gospel of Christ. That truth was apparent to me the first time I read it, but I think my children were still young enough that the application was limited. This time, I put the book down feeling better equipped to parent and discipline and love in a way consistent with the gospel. The book has already positively impacted countless interactions with my children. And has refreshed and strengthened my vision for parenting as well.

This entry was posted in Book Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

