2013 Book Thoughts–> “Hinds’ Feet on High Places” by Hannah Hurnard

This is not a book I ever would’ve picked up on my own. It was put into my hands by a good friend. I usually read books that are given to me, whether or not they otherwise spark my interest, because someone thinking I might like it (or might benefit from it) generates curiosity and interest. This friend that gave me this book is going through a very tough time, and was reading it herself, and was finding lots of hope in this book. I’m not sure if she gave it to me simply because she wanted to pass on something good she found, or if she sensed I could use some hope. Either way, it took me a while to open the book, but after a few pages in, I couldn’t put it down. It is truly one of the best books I have ever read. The allegory of Christian growth is so moving, so convicting, so hopeful, and so accurate. I really felt that it spoke to me in my season, but I have a feeling it would speak to most any season. My friend’s mentor says she reads it every advent season. I think I may do the same.

This entry was posted in Book Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

