2013 Book Thoughts –> “An Everlasting Meal” by Tamar Adler

This book was a gift, and as I’ve mentioned on this blog before, I almost always read books that are recommended to me, because I am intrigued by the thought that I came to mind while someone was reading. All the more so with a gift!

The subtitle of “An Everlasting Meal” is “Cooking with Economy and Grace”. I love all things cooking, and I love reading, but I never would’ve picked up this book on my own, although I’m not sure why. An excerpt from the description on the back of the book says, “In this meditation on cooking and eating, Tamar Adler weaves philosophy and instruction into approachable lessons on feeding ourselves well[.]” I can’t think of a better way to describe the content of the book! Knowing that the woman who gave it to me knows me well enough to gauge what I’d enjoy, and knowing the content matter was interesting to me, I’m not surprised that I liked it, but I was very surprised by how much it hooked me! While reading it, I snuck in a chapter here and there when I could, and stayed up for an extra chapter (or two!) more than one night. Adler is an excellent writer and her thoughts on cooking and eating are practical and elegant. Her tastes are far more sophisticated than our family’s (I could probably describe our family’s tastes as pretty thoroughly Americanized: in the familiar-American-meals sense, not in a most-everything-processed sense), so my interest and excitement during and after reading has given me courage to try many new and unfamiliar things. More than I’d like were unsuccessful, but some were well received, and there was still lots in the book that has been happily incorporated into our Americanized kitchen!

This entry was posted in Book Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

