2013 Book Thoughts –> “Deeper Walk” by Marcus Warner

Warner asserts in this book that there are many things that work together in order to accomplish a deeper walk with God, and the basic format of the book is to spend a chapter covering an aspect of deepening your walk. Examples of the chapters include: The Power of Perspective, Sovereign Lordship, Listening to God, Watching the Enemy, etc.

There was a lot in the book I liked very much, and the part on forgiveness was very helpful. I’ve read, listened, and talked with others a lot about forgiveness, and I’m always surprised at how much the teaching and opinions vary: what forgiveness actually is, whether it involves emotions or not, what it should feel like if it does involve emotions, whether or not it’s a choice. Whether or not this book has it all right on forgiveness, I’m not sure, but certainly what it had to offer was helpful. Perhaps I just came across it at a time when I was ready to work on some unforgiveness in my heart. Or maybe it was the book itself that brought me to the place of being ready to work more…?

There are a lot of varying opinions on another topic addressed often throughout the book: how, and how much, we personally hear from God. When I read the book, I wasn’t entirely comfortable with all the ways of hearing from God that the author describes. The primary way that Warner recommends healing an emotional wound is through listening prayer, where we ask God to give us his perspective on the situation. We ask God to speak to us through words or pictures. My being uncomfortable with something certainly doesn’t mean there’s anything wrong with it, as almost everything unfamiliar is uncomfortable at first, so I’ve tried to find out more about this. I found that this issue is even more polarized than I originally thought. As far as I understand what I’ve read and discussed so far, on one end are those who believe God doesn’t speak to us at all outside the Bible, and on the other are those that believe that a personal relationship with God precisely means that we have two-way conversation with him throughout our lives, and that he directs us by these means in addition to the Bible. After all I’ve tried to find out since reading this book, I am no less uncomfortable or unsure. Perhaps more so. I am falling somewhere in the middle, although I’m aware that completely sounds like a cop-out. I believe this is just another instance of believers working out their salvation with fear and trembling. (There are those who disagree with this, and would assert that certain views on certain theology indicate whether someone is or is not saved.)

Another theory in the book is the theory that any overreaction to a situation indicates that we have a “button”. When our button is pushed, we overreact to the situation. Warner says that all buttons find their source in a wound. So healing the wound cures the overreaction. It was an intriguing theory, and I can easily accept that it is true in many cases, but I’m not sure I’m sold out on this always being true. Sometime when I overreact in a situation, I think it’s because I’m being selfish and I want what I want. And sometimes it’s hormones. Do I have undiscovered wounds causing these reactions, and I’m simply mistaking the cause as simple selfishness, fatigue, or hormones? Maybe…

Although there are things in the book I’m not totally in agreement with, there’s much in this book that is not dependent on any certain view on any of these issues, and is great, thought-provoking teaching on deepening your walk with God.

This entry was posted in Book Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

