2013 Book Thoughts –> “Instructing a Child’s Heart” by Tedd & Margy Tripp

A different book on parenting by Tedd Tripp, “Shepherding a Child’s Heart”, is my absolute favorite parenting book. So when I discovered he had written another, I was probably going to read it no matter what the content. However, the title was especially interesting to me because of my role as teacher in my children’s lives. In “Shepherding a Child’s Heart”, Tripp lays out a beautiful picture of practical, gospel-centered parenting. So I heard “Instructing a Child’s Heart”, and thought I’d found a primer on gospel-centered teaching! (Now, I’m not trying to overuse the catch-phrase “gospel-centered”, or claim that something has to be laced with Bible verses in order to be useful, because that’s far from the truth! However, God has lots to say about lots of things, and there is a way to do things in accordance with Truth, and in conflict with it. So I hope I don’t sound like I’m in the market for a more “gospel-centered” arithmetic curriculum. I was simply excited to hear Tripp’s thoughts on education, knowing his deep love of the gospel.)

Now, if any of you have read my other blog plots, you may be aware of my tendency to read the title of a book and jump to conclusions about its content. This is far from the first time I’ve done it. The book is not about education in an academic sense at all. What it is about is instructing our children in the ways of God. So although my guess at its contents was off, it was a fantastic book. Just as practical, helpful, encouraging, and -yes- gospel-centered as “Shepherding a Child’s Heart”.

I found it to be helpful for myself as well. There are things we are meant to learn as a child that, if not fully learned, will leave a hole in our maturity. I am benefitting greatly from absorbing his teachings on authority, the church, sufficiency in Christ, and other truths.

I’d definitely recommend this one.

This entry was posted in Book Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

