2014 Book Thoughts –> “Watch for the Light: Readings for Advent and Christmas”

I started this book during the 2011 and 2012 Christmas seasons, and got about halfway. This year I was smart enough to start where I left off the other 2 years and finish it. The book contains readings for each day from November 24th through January 7th, and the readings are extremely diverse. The readings were as different as they come in theological positions, writing style, and length. Some I thought were profound, beautiful, interesting, and insightful; and some I disliked and/or disagreed with. A few I don’t think I really understood.

I will probably return to this for a future advent, although I’m considering marking it up a bit next time and choosing some of the essays to be read yearly.

This entry was posted in Book Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

